Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The Department of Applied Economics embraces diversity and excellence. We are committed to promoting the principles of equal opportunity, affirmative action, and multiculturalism where all individuals are valued, respected, provided the opportunity to flourish, and unobstructed in their pursuit of excellence. Our goal is to create workplace and classroom experiences that promote academic excellence through cultural diversity and are free of intolerance and coercive behaviors. Multiculturalism promotes an understanding that the human experience includes, but is not limited to race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, disability, public assistance status, veteran status, or sexual orientation. 

How We Define Diversity

Our definition aligns with the University. It is our responsibility as an institution—as part of our commitment to creating a welcoming and affirming climate—to serve and support the following individuals and groups at the University of Minnesota:

  • American Indians and other indigenous populations.
  • People of color, including underrepresented groups and new immigrant populations.
  • People with both apparent and non-apparent disabilities.
  • People who identify as women.
  • People of various gender and sexual identities and expressions.
  • First-generation students.
  • Individuals who might encounter barriers based on their religious expression, age, national origin, ethnicity, or veteran status.

Begin or deepen your learning and understanding with these anti-racism resources collected by CFANS Office of Diversity and Inclusion. Other resources, including training opportunities, can be found by visiting the University’s OED website.

Engage in our conversation

All are welcome to participate in the Applied Economics Diversity & Inclusion Committee, a space where we encourage students, staff, and faculty to attend and contribute to diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives within the Department. If you would like to attend a meeting, please contact Dr. Hikaru Peterson, Diversity & Inclusion Committee Chair, for details.